We have recently talked with a number of people who were “sold a bill of goods”. They received an emailed advertisement to be able to get a US Concealed Carry License online. I had never heard of this, and found out that there are folks out there proposing to be able to offer this to you. But it is not without a lot of headache and frustration.
They claim that you can simply bypass the laws of the state that you are in by simply watching a video and following their procedures. Technically, this is true. There are states out there who
offer a non-resident permit to carry and some will even allow this training to be done online. Today, I received and email advertising this kind of scheme. It looked like this email (just in case you get one).
Buyer Beware! There is no way to get a North Carolina Concealed Handgun Permit online! In fact, I recently inquired about being able to do a virtual classroom with the onset of the coronavirus, and was told, unless a new directive is issued, the classroom must be a traditional classroom. I just did a little research on the particular company who spammed me. The first thing I ran across was an F rating by the Better Business Bureau, along with a long list of 1 star complaints. (By the way, Home Front Freedom gets an A+ rating.) Then, I found a seperate list of complaints to BBB about them charging them on a subscription basis.
The best description of this entire scheme was on the Huffington Post, of all places. They describe the entire process that is used in order to justify how they do business (Facebook Is Making Millions Off A Nationwide Gun Permit Scam, by By Jesselyn Cook, Huffington Post, 11/08/2019 05:45 am ET) The list goes on… (Click here to see more search results.)
C’mon folks, you get what you pay for! There are no shortcuts. The fact that you want a shortcut in the first place is very alarming to me, especially, considering what we cover in our Concealed Carry Handgun Course. It would seem that this scam capitolizes on the Virginia non-resident course. What does that have to do with North Carolina law? The very reason that the State of North Carolina requires you to take an approved course consisting of 8 hours of classroom time plus range time, is the required 2 hours of law instruction. There are no shortcuts! Don’t be fooled! If you did take this course, and recieve your certificate of completion ($130 later), you will still need to make application to the State of Virginia! This is a rip-off, and many have come to us who have been sold this very same bill of goods.
Being in the IT field for 20+ years, we have a saying, “don’t click on it”. Just block these types of emails with your spam filter, and send all of your friends to Home Front Freedom’s North Carolina Concealed Carry Handgun Course. If you are a prior student, you already know why. If you are looking for a great course, don’t take our word for it, see what others have said, and read our Google Reviews.