Frequently Asked Questions
Classes & Training
Questions regarding classes that Home Front Freedom offers.
Handgun rentals include the handgun, spare magazines and a holster. You will still need to purchase a box of 50 rounds (usually .40 S&W, 9mm or .38 Special unless you make arrangements to rent something else). Of course a firm, suitable gun belt, so that you can utilize the holster is necessary.
We sometimes use a range that has a covered shooting area. Besides that, a self-defense situation can happen in any kind of weather. Please bring suitable outdoor clothing for whatever elements we are supposed to have. No open toed shoes please.
You will earn both the North Carolina Concealed Carry Handgun (CCH) completion certificate necessary to present to the Sheriff’s department of your local county for your application, AND your
NRA First Steps Pistol certification, Home Front Freedom Introductory Pistol Course certification, which is recognized as a suitable firearms safety course in several other states to count towards their concealed carry requirements.
- A handgun that you are familiar with
(rentals are $10.00 additional)*
- At least 50 rounds of ammunition
(more if you think you will need it)
- A holster along with a suitable belt to support it*
- 2 magazines (for semi-autos) or a speed loader (for revolvers)*
- Hearing and eye protection
- Appropriate clothing and foot wear for outdoor range activities
(no open toed shoes please)
- A valid drivers license or photo ID (this is for the range)
- A notebook and pencil or pen
- $60 cash (if you just paid $10 down, otherwise $70 cash) (sorry, no checks)
- A hearty appetite (we share our lunch with you)
*If you are renting a handgun, you will not need to bring a holster or magazines, please wear a sturdy belt.
If there is something here that you cannot get before class, be sure to let us know. Typically, we will be able to provide some items on an as needed basis.
What does the law say?
Authorized law enforcement officers may carry concealed handguns statewide, off duty, provided that an officer does not carry a concealed weapon while consuming alcohol or an unlawful controlled substance, or while alcohol or an unlawful controlled substance remains in the officer’s body. Departmental policy and state law must be consulted as to areas an off duty officer would be prohibited from carrying a weapon.
Yes, if the officer meets all of the criteria set forth under the federal law known as the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act of 2004 (H.R.218) and is carrying valid identification as an officer.
Except as to the requirement to lawfully possess a machine gun under N.C.G.S. §14-409, North Carolina generally does not require other types of firearms to be registered with the sheriff or Police Department. The only type of “registration” requirement is that a purchaser or receiver of a pistol must first obtain a pistol permit, for each pistol, from the sheriff of the county in which he/she resides.
No. North Carolina General Statute § 14-269 does not specify whether the weapon has to be loaded or unloaded. Rather, the location of the weapon is looked at to determine whether or not it is concealed.
Pistol permits may be obtained from the sheriff where the purchaser or receiver resides. An application must be submitted to the sheriff by the individual who desires to obtain a pistol permit, and must satisfy the requirements of North Carolina law. These requirements are set out in our Concealed Carry Handgun class or our Legal Refresher sessions.
North Carolina law provides that permits are valid for a period of five (5) years.
North Carolina law does not specifically address how long an individual must reside in a county prior to making application for a pistol permit. However, it is not uncommon for a sheriff’s department to establish such a policy with a minimum residency requirement.
State law sets no limit on the number of permits which can be obtained at any one given time.
To purchase a handgun from a federally licensed dealer, an individual must be 21 years of age or older. The age at which a person can purchase a shotgun or rifle form a licensed dealer is 18. Please note that although an 18, 19, or 20-year-old may be issued a pistol purchase permit they would not be able to purchase a handgun with it from a licensed firearms dealer.
Yes. North Carolina General Statute § 14-402 does not make any exception for the receipt or purchase of a handgun from a private individual as opposed to a firearms dealer. Therefore, a pistol purchase or North Carolina concealed carry permit is necessary before the transfer of any handgun can take place.
Yes. Gun and knife belt buckles described above falsely give an impression of being ornamental in nature. As their nature and purpose is concealed and misleading, coupled with the weapons’ immediate and ready accessibility to the wearer of such a belt buckle, they would be considered concealed.
As a general rule, no. North Carolina General Statutes generally forbid a person to carry a weapon into an assembly where an admission fee has been charged, or a place where alcoholic beverages are sold and consumed. There is a limited exception for those in possession of a lawfully issued concealed handgun permit. However, even these permitees may not carry on such a premises if a notice has been posted prohibiting such carry and they may not consume any alcohol. A more detailed discussion of these areas are provided in our Concealed Carry Handgun class or our Legal Refresher session
Generally speaking, yes; however, North Carolina General Statute § 14-404 allows a non-resident of a county to obtain a permit to purchase a pistol but only for the purpose of collecting firearms.
No. As a general rule, North Carolina law forbids a private citizens from carrying a concealed weapon, either on or about their person, while off their premises, unless they have a concealed handgun permit. This prohibition pertains not only to firearms, but also to any other deadly weapon. Sign up for our Concealed Carry Handgun class or our Legal Refresher session for a more detailed analysis of this complex area, to include transporting a firearm in a vehicle.
Yes. Certain qualified North Carolina residents can get a permit to carry concealed handguns under specific circumstances. North Carolina allows out-of-state concealed handgun permittees to carry concealed handguns pursuant to such permits in North Carolina. Please be aware that while carrying a handgun pursuant to such permit, qualified out-of-state permittees are held to the same standards as North Carolina permittees. Consequently, there are a number of areas where concealed handguns cannot be carried in North Carolina, regardless of the individual having a permit to carry a concealed weapon. A more detailed discussion of what areas prohibit the possession of a firearm is covered in our Concealed Carry Handgun classes.
A person with a valid concealed handgun permit may carry a concealed handgun on the grounds or waters of a park within North Carolina’s State Parks System as defined in G.S. § 113-44.9. Additionally, pursuant to G.S. § 14-269.4(5), a person may carry any firearm openly, or carry a handgun concealed with a valid permit, on any State-owned hunting or fishing reservation. Further, pursuant to 36 C.F.R. § 2.4(h), a person may possess a concealed firearm within a national park area in accordance with the laws of the State in which the national park area is located, except as otherwise prohibited by federal law. Any person desiring to carry a firearm on any national park area should consult with the appropriate federal park service for additional guidelines on the possession of firearms.
No. North Carolina does not require the owner to have a state pistol permit prior to redeeming his or her pawned pistol. Federal law, however, would require a NICS inquiry or suitable alternative prior to redemption.
Products from Amazon.com
Price: $13.75Was: $15.99
Price: $6.40Was: $24.99
Price: Check on Amazon
Price: $23.96Was: $32.99